DS Friendly Eating: Spinach Artichoke Crustless Quiche

I push eggs a lot to post-ops.

They are, after all, the perfect protein delivery when fully cooked.

The fact that I have hens in the backyard mean that I have the most nutritious eggs at my disposal, as well!

I happen to adore quiche. I noticed something a few years ago when eating a quiche that was served to me. I ate it all – except the crust. Cause the crust was kinda grody. And – well – why waste the space? So, I decided why not just embrace the crustless quiche?

It’s SO easy to make. Seriously – it takes about 10 minutes to mix it up. The baking, though, that’s where the time investment is. You want to give it the time it needs in the oven – without burning it – because, as we all know – burnt eggs are NOT okay.

The other beautiful thing about this? It’s so versatile. You can add so many amazing ingredients to mix it up. Plus, it reheats in the microwave in a scant minute. Talk about convenient!

Okay – so easy – you won’t believe it. Let’s get started!

Spinach Artichoke Crustless Quiche (ß-click hyperlink to go to PDF of the recipe.)

Here’s what you’ll need:

8 farm fresh eggs
8 ounces heavy whipping cream
2 cups Jarlsberg, shredded
2 cups Spinach Artichoke dip

That’s it.

Wild, right?

(Okay – I fudged a bit – I threw in an extra egg. The pullets are coming into lay and some of them are laying mongo huge eggs. There were a few that were too big to git in the egg carton, so I used those.)

If you have a hard time finding Jarlsberg, any old Swiss cheese will work, but the Jarlsberg – it’s so yummy. By the way, I’m able to get it so much less expensively at Costco – i.e., $4.98 a pound, versus $6.99 a pound at the grocery store. I buy a big wedge, then shred it up in the Cuisinart, and then freeze the balance until I need it.

Do you have a stick blender? They are the BEST. I may not use it every day – but I use it regularly. (Seriously – if you want to do your own refried beans, you want a stick blender!) If you don’t have one, pull out the hand mixer, it’ll work. As it so happens, my stick blender came with this super fab beaker that works perfectly for making quiche!

First – the eggs:

Next – add the heavy cream:

Just for reference. It’s about 16 oz of eggs and 8 ounces of heavy cream.

Now, I put the Jarlsberg in the bottom of the pie plate:

There’s nothing magical about this order of events, by the way. It’s just how I always do it. I find that letting the eggs sit for a few minutes makes the blending go a little better.

Now – use the fabulous stick blender and blend the eggs and cream until smooth. Voila! You have custard!

Okay – so now I put a couple of cups of the fabulous Spinach Artichoke dip in a bowl and then add the custard:

Using a fork, gently break up the big clumps of dip. Mix until it’s evenly combined:

Now – add the spinach/custard mixture to the pie plate with the Jarlsberg in it:

Once again, gently distribute the custard/spinach dip mixture through the cheese. Here’s what it looks like when it’s all mixed in:

Now – set it in your preheated oven. I put mine on the pizza stone that lives in my oven most of the time, and the super nice part about that is that the bottom of the quiche does not brown. Yay!

I set the timer for 30 minutes. Here’s what it looks like at 30 minutes in:

I now tent it with aluminum foil for the remainder of the cooking time.

It doesn’t have to be super tight or beautiful – just covered. I HATE burnt eggs – so I protect it from browning too much. This is very important to my enjoyment factor of the quiche!

The wild card in all of this is how long it will take for it to be finished from this point in time. Normally, another 30 minutes will do it. Today? It actually took another 50 minutes – and I’m blaming that on the pizza stone underneath it. I’m happy to give it the extra time, though – in exchange for no browning on the bottom!.

The key is to make sure the center is set. How do you tell? Simply nudge the pie plate a bit. If it jiggles in the middle – it’s not set. It’s amazing how quickly it can go from not set to perfect – honestly – in just a minute or two. I typically set a timer in 5 minute increments once it looks MOSTLY set.

And here it is fresh out of the oven:

Pretty, huh?

I usually let it sit for 20 minutes or so to let it settle before cutting it. As you can see from the time stamp on the photos, more like 30 minutes passed before I served myself this piece. It was still piping hot, by the way.

And it was delectable.

The great thing about the spinach artichoke dip that I used is that it’s got some garlic in it, too – but it’s subtle. Nothing too overpowering.

Okay – important things you need to know.

  1. This will keep nicely in the fridge for a week. I wait for it to cool to room temperature, cover it in plastic wrap, and then pop it in the fridge.
  2. You can reheat a slice of this in the microwave in just one minute. Shorter and it won’t be heated through. Longer, you’ll burn the eggs – and as we all know, burnt eggs are NOT okay.
  3. I love to sprinkle a little bit of Mediterranean sea salt and freshly ground black pepper on top. Add a little shredded cheddar on top, and serve it with some diced ham, crumbled sausage, or a couple of slices of bacon.
  4. The fresher the eggs, the more fabulous this will taste. I’m totally telling you the truth. It’s like night and day. If you don’t have hens in the backyard – find someone who does, or a farm nearby who sells their fresh eggs. If you haven’t found them yet – check out Local Harvest.

One serving of this delectable-ness has:

Protein: 43 grams
Fat: 67 grams (yay! We love our DS!)
Carbs: 4 grams

Now – go make one – it’s super yummy!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Farrah Regan says:

    Silly question, can’t we only absorb 30g of protein?  Wouldn’t we waist the other 13g?  I know I can just cut it in half.

    1. Dina says:

      That’s one of those kind of “supposedly” things. Can anyone prove it? Good question. What I can tell you for sure is that when I see people pushing consistently higher for prolonged periods of time – their labs start to show cranky LFTs. The thing with this particular recipe – because it’s SO high fat – and we malabsorb so much fat – you’d be losing a certain percentage of the protein to the fat malabsorption. Make sense at all?

      1. karen b. says:

        Absolutley. That is one of the things I watch for if I am eating something that might be a bit carb heavy. Whats the fat content. I KNOW I malabsorb fat. The evidence is there fairly quickly. So, I have theorized that it moves the food out of my body so quickly that carb absorption is minimal. Now I don’t do this often. I prefer no butt burn and no regain. So I have to agree that we do lose a portion of the protein as well as cdarbs and def fat.

  2. karen b. says:

    O so good for a weekend brunch, esp when your friends are all DSr’s. Whose bringing the bacon! Thank you.

  3. veryfeminefemale@aol.com says:

    Dena, Is Dr. B going to be coming to the US this year?

    1. Dina says:

      You know, I forgot to ask him! I’ll find out and let you know. 🙂

  4. mere says:

    Do you bake at 350? I don’t see the tepm in your post.
    Thanks, can’t wait to try this. I usually add cottage cheese to my eggs when I make crustless quiche.

    1. Dina says:

      Sorry! Yes, I should have said that in the blog post. It’s in the PDF of the recipe, but definitely should have been in both places!

      And great idea on the cottage cheese! 🙂

Leave a Reply

