DS Friendly Eating: Dina’s Favorite French Salad Dressing

I must make a confession to you.

I know as a community – a group of people who have lived a portion of their lives as morbidly obese – that we’re supposed to DREAD salads. I mean, they’re supposed to stand for all that’s wrong with the whole “dieting” state, right? EVIL salads. (Imagine a really stern frowny face there.) The bane of our pre-DS existence!

I’m sorry.

I know – it seems disloyal – but if I’m gonna be honest with you – I gotta confess.

I adore salad.

Now – let me clarify.

Not that leaf lettuce dressed with a bit of flaked albacore and a cherry tomato, maybe two, and if you’re lucky, a slice of cucumber – fork tines dipped into the salad dressing as you go, choking the horribly dry thing down kind of salad.

:shudder:

YUCK.

Here’s my idea of a GREAT salad – the kind I can (and will) eat daily:

A head of lettuce
A diced tomato
A sliced or chunked cucumber
½ a cup of pickled beets
¼ cup of olives
2 or 3 egg yolks, crumbled up
2 or 3 oz of turkey breast, diced up
2 or 3 oz of Jarlsberg and/or cheddar and/or CoJack
1 sliced up green onion or two
A chunked up avocado
Some sunflower seeds
Maybe some bacon bits, if I have leftovers
And LOTS of salad dressing.

None of the dipping the tines of your folk in your salad dressing crap with DS territory! Bring it on!

And the longer I’m a DS’er, the more I love a salad dressing with PRESENCE. I LOVE robust flavors!

Hence, my love affair with this stuff… It’s a little something that I did some experimenting with this fall, and well – I’m hooked. It’s easy as can be to put together – give it a whirl, you’ll be glad you did!

Dina’s Favorite French Salad Dressing (ß-click hyperlink to go to PDF of the recipe.)

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 1/4 cups Extra Light, Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
1/4 cup White Wine Vinegar
1/4 cup Raw Local Honey
1/4 cup Sugar
1/2 cup Ketchup
2 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce
1/2 teaspoon Ground Cloves
1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper
1 1/2 teaspoons Kosher Salt
2 to 3 cloves Garlic
1/2 Large Onion, roughly chopped

Again – this will require no culinary degree. It’s basically a dump it in the blender and blend kinda thing. SO MUCH better than anything you can buy in the store. Plus – look! Prebiotics galore! Yay!

Here’s a picture of what you’ll need:

I pull out my favorite Pyrex 2 cup glass measuring cup and get right started. First the olive oil… I use the Extra Light, Extra Virgin – for basically everything. I put it in a Misto for cooking spray, I use it for baking. I use it for cooking. I use it for making mayo. I use it for basically everything. It’s awesome!

Next, you need some vinegar. I use a mix of Apple Cider Vinegar and White Wine Vinegar – you could go all one or all the other – but I LOVE the tang that the ACV gives and have been known to use it for all of the vinegar.

Next – you’ll need some sweet to balance the pow. I’m using half honey and half sugar – but I like it with all of one or the other, too. Of course, use local raw honey – not the horrible pasteurized crap.

Next up – ketchup. Yep – I know, I should probably make my own. But I just didn’t grow enough tomatoes to do that this year, so I will next year. Next best, is the stuff with no HFCS in it. At this point in the game I just dump the Worcestershire sauce…

…and the remaining spices…

Now dump them into the blender.

Last up – the onion and garlic. I used three decent sized cloves of garlic and ½ of a rough chopped sweet yellow onion.

Throw those into the blender now, too:

Now you blend. Start on the lowest setting for about a minute:

You want to make sure that you don’t see any big chunks left. Next, turn the speed to high:

Blend on the highest speed for about 3 minutes. (See? Look at the time stamp on the photos – I always just go by look – but it never fails. Three minutes really does it.)

And Voila!

You now have 4 cups of completely delectable French dressing. I will admit to slurping some up right out of the blender. But wait – it’s about 500 times better once it’s had a chance to sit in the fridge and ruminate some. YUMMMMM!

Now THAT’s a salad. J

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Belinda says:

    Thanks for sharing! I plan to make some!! 🙂

    1. Dina says:

      Yay! I hope you love it as much as I do, Belinda!

  2. karen b. says:

    Oh, I am soooo with you. I love a good salad dressing. I adore all the good for US goodies that we can load into a salad. I usually use spinach as my greens. I love spinach and hope I absorb a little iron. I agree with your comments about salads. Way back, when I tried to diet, it was torture. Trying to convince myself that a dry salad was the way to go. Just didn’t work for my head. Now I love them as a quick tossed together meal. I am a TV eater and love to nosh over an hour since bulky food takes a while to chew and fit into my tiny tummy!

    1. Dina says:

      There really is nothing quite so yummy as a good salad with lots of spinach in it, is there? Add some egg and bacon and french dressing – and WOW! YUM!

Leave a Reply

