DS Friendly Eating: Dina’s Favorite Tartar Sauce

One of the things that we figure out fairly early in on this crazy DS journey is – let’s say it together – it’s all about the sauces!

When you’re a pre-op or a normie – you worry about the fats, right?

When you’re a post-op – yeah, totally unfair to the rest of the world – but for us – they’re really part of what makes eating oh, so much the better!

We preach protein, protein, protein – and rightly so. But when we’re baby post-ops and trying to figure it all out – we sometimes get overwhelmed with the – well, blah of it all.

And if you’re like a lot of post-ops I know – you suddenly develop this NEED – nearly primal in nature – for fish.

Seriously? I could eat it three meals a day and be a happy camper.

What’s not to love about it – seriously intense, flavorful, wonderful protein!

But – if we’re honest, it can get pretty blah pretty quick.

Time to kiss the blah goodbye, sweetheart!

I will just confess right here and now – I love a good tartar sauce. I’ve had a LOT of tartar sauces that I still get a shiver over – and not a good shiver. :BLECH: Some seriously grody stuff out there masquerading as tartar sauce – the most heinous of them all – the stuff on the grocery store shelves. Yucky pooh!

Over the years I’d tried a number of tartar sauce recipes, but always with just – :eh: – underwhelming results.

Why waste the space on kinda gross, you know?

So – I played around, and FINALLY – a few years ago – this little tartar sauce recipe came about. It’s a staple at our house. I make it about once a week or so. The world does in fact, come to a screeching halt if we’re out. Just being honest here.

And this is a SUPER basic, super simple little recipe, and I feel a little embarrassed featuring it this week – but, well, I’d hate to keep the goodness to myself if all you need is a good, basic tartar sauce recipe to make YOUR DS life a happier place. J

Dina’s Favorite Tartar Sauce (-click hyperlink to go to PDF of the recipe.)

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup of mayonnaise
3 Tablespoons green onions, finely sliced
1/4 cup dill pickle relish (or diced dill pickles if you’re out – like I am, today!)
1 Tablespoon fresh parsley, finely chopped
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon dried Tarragon
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

I will interject here – if you are able to – use homemade mayo here. Seriously – YUM.

This is pretty much a dump it all in the bowl and mix type of recipe, but I’ll show you step-by-step, just to prove to you how very easy it is to make.

Here’s my mixing bowl with the 1 cup of mayonnaise (yes, I used the store bought this time – I’m making mayo tonight – so sue me!), 3 Tablespoons of sliced green onion (fresh out of the garden – in November! Go figure!), and 1 Tablespoon of fresh parsley. Of note – I happen to love the flat leaf parsley in this – but the girls have eaten it all – so it’s the curly leaf parsley today. You can grow parsley on your kitchen window ledge so easily! It’s worth doing!

Next, I add in 2 teaspoons of lemon juice – more or less. I take half of a small fresh lemon; pull out as many of the seeds as I can see, squeeze it into my hand to catch any additional seeds – basically just eyeballing it for the measurement. Then just dump it in!

Next, the ½ teaspoon of dry Tarragon. I make sure to measure it into my hand, and then use my fingers to break it up into finer sized pieces.

And finally – 1/2 a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce.

(Nice blurry picture, huh?!)

That’s it! Ridiculously easy, isn’t it?

Now you just mix it up…

And there you have it!

It makes just a little less than 2 cups of sauce.

You’ll want to refrigerate it for a couple of hours before using it to give the flavors a chance to marry.

Of course, keep it in the fridge. It will last for a good week or two… you know, if you don’t eat it all first. J

Now – go make fish for dinner!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristi Stepp says:

    that’s almost just like the one i’ve been making for years except I don’t use parsley or tarragon but I do use a little horseradish and a dash or garlic powder in addition to all the things you use. My x came home with the recipe years ago from a “roach coach” we call them that divulged their recipe to him after having many lunches at work with them for fish and loving their tartar sauce. What’s odd is I never wrote it down and always remember it as I make it somehow.
    LOVE,

    Kristi

    aka ZUZU

    Date: Sat, 17 Nov 2012 01:04:21 +0000
    To: zuzupetals2u@msn.com

    1. Dina says:

      I love the idea of a little horseradish in there for something a little different! Cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

