DS Friendly Eating: The BEST Egg Salad Ever

I get a lot of questions about “DS Friendly Eating.”

You gotta admit – it kind of flies in the face of convention.

Convention insisting that a lot of protein can be bad and fat is evil incarnate.

When you’re a DS post-op – we want you to focus on protein (but balance, people – please!) – as in 90 to 120 grams of protein a day.

And fat isn’t evil at all – it actually helps the DS work. Again – balance is important. We don’t want you dealing with a bunch of bathroom issues if you go overboard here!

So – in an effort to help a little, I’ve decided to start blogging a bit more about DS Friendly Eating, and try to post a DS Friendly Recipe on a regular basis.

Today – let me introduce you to The BEST Egg Salad Ever. (ß-click hyperlink to go to PDF of the recipe.)

Hello?!

Eggs – PERFECT DS post-op food. A fully cooked egg is the optimal delivery of protein to a post-op body. Yay!

That’s a little tricky for me because I’m technically allergic to egg whites. So I’ve got this little trick that I do to try and sneak eggs in as much as possible. I can actually eat *some* egg whites, just as long as I don’t do so too often, or get too much. This egg salad seems to work – hallelujah! – which is great, because I actually LOVE it. Thanks, by the way, to my sweet Mommy who taught me how to make it this way – it was her way to make it a little more Dina-friendly, back in the day when I was just a kid.

So let’s get started!

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 dozen eggs, hard boiled
3/4 cup mayonnaise
1 cup diced dill pickle (use dill pickle relish if you prefer)
1 cup diced celery
1/3 cup sliced green onion
Black pepper

I should also tell you that I’m notorious for not measuring stuff – but for you – I broke down and measured! I usually just throw stuff together for the most part – and if there’s an option to add pickles, celery, onions – you know I’m gonna add more, not less! Just thought I’d get that out there on the table!

So here’s the thing – you need a grater for your eggs. You got a box grater? I have two – that’s how much I love ’em! In this picture, you can see the “big” side of the grater.

For egg salad (well, anything requiring grated eggs), I use the “tiny” side of the grater – see?

And this is what it looks like when you use that tiny side for the eggs:

That’s how I can handle the eggs – they basically can’t be chunky or I’m gonna have a reaction to them. So this is how I do it!

My trick with my egg salad? Out of my dozen eggs, I’m going to do six whole eggs, and six egg yolks.

This was my Mom’s trick, really – it’s sorta deviled egg-ish. And it’s YUMMY.

Next, add the green onion (these came fresh out of the garden – so good!), diced dill pickle, and diced celery:

Now – with the fabulousness of the DS factored in: add mayonnaise to your preference!

I add a little mayo at a time and mix it in – making sure it doesn’t get too goupy, but isn’t too dry, either. Once you get the consistency you’re looking for, add some seasonings. I add coarse ground black pepper, and sometimes I throw in some chives, or a little tarragon, or even a little dill. The sky is the limit here!

Then – once you’ve got your spices all mixed in – you’re done! J This batch made just a smidge more than 4 cups.

And made a fabulous DS Friendly snack! One slice of Oroweat Winter Wheat bread and egg salad on top, sprinkled with a bit of kosher salt. YUM!

So – let’s talk nutrition.

My one slice of bread:
Protein: 3 grams
Dietary Fiber: 2 grams
Fat: 2 grams

About 1/3-ish cup of egg salad:
Protein: 10 grams
Dietary Fiber: 1 gram
Fat: 22 grams

Not bad, huh? And – just to share the love a bit – probably my favorite way to eat this egg salad? On Kettle’s Salt and Pepper chips. YUM.

So there you have it. Go make some egg salad, you’ll thank me!

J

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Do we need to stay away from carbs. If we do how many carbs can we eat daily.

    1. Dina says:

      Rosie – of course, simple carbs will never do you any favors. Complex carbs – they’re great! BUT – you need to listen to your body. Order of importance: hydration, protein, dietary fiber, fat.

  2. Diane Thompson says:

    Thank you Dina. This is yummy

Leave a Reply

