Hello, My Name is Dina…

…and I’m an addict.

We make fun of those lines that society has heard so many times – they’re funny placed appropriately in a script. But they’re not so funny if they’re a part of your day to day life – no matter what the addiction is – if it’s an addiction that is detrimental to your health – be it emotional, physical, spiritual, etc.

My addiction?

People laugh and think – yeah, right. Like that’s a problem.

Well – it is – if you’re a girl who was diagnosed with osteoporosis at age 36.

Big problems with Coke – it has HFCS (evil stuff) and carbonation – both things that block calcium absorption.

Here I am a malabsorber with osteoporosis – taking boatloads of calcium, D3, and magnesium – and knocking it back with a swig of Coke.

DUH.

And – if I’d been having one Coke – oh, like every week or two, that would be one thing. But more like six or eight of them a day? Yeah, not so good.

So – four years ago today – May 29, 2007 – I gave up Coke.

FOUR YEARS.

TODAY!

I’m so proud of me.

I don’t know if I can adequately explain to you how much I STILL love Coke – and how deeply committed I am that it never pass these lips again.

Having bones has so much more importance to me, you know?

Not only have I not had a Coke in 4 years – no carbonation and no HFCS have passed these lips, either.

Not a single soda.

Have I mentioned how proud I am of me?

‘Cause honestly – it’s not like you give up a lifetime addiction on whim. At least I don’t.

And when I say lifetime – I mean lifetime.

Coke in a baby bottle is the great Southern cure for Colic.

I was a colicky baby.

Yep – I got Coke in my baby bottle.

LIFETIME, people, lifetime addiction.

And – I should just take a moment to thank our friends at Starbucks for making it all possible. I honestly don’t think I could have done this without Tazo Zen and Awake. (‘Cause honestly – it took a plan – and I had to have something on hand as a substitute.) If they happen to you know, give me stock in thanks for the many – I’m sure – thousands of dollars I spent in the drive-through over the past 4 years for my Venti Iced Tea, No Classic, with Extra Ice Please – well, I’d be okay with that. 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Dina – what a great accomplishment! I had no idea though about the carbonation and HFCS blocking the vitamins. There needs to a change on my end! You do know about the Starbies gold card and refills, right? I’m living on passion tea during the week.

  2. Leanne says:

    Wow! Bravo! As a six year DSer with osteopenia, I can go a week without a soda but then I need to tank up. I applaud you! In everything you do you are mindfull of the impact on your body and your future. You are wonderful to share it all with us and help us to be mindful too. Be well; enjoy every moment!

Leave a Reply

