How to Make the Perfect Iced Tea

I know.  I know!

It seems like it should be obvious.

But all it takes is one incredibly disgusting glass of iced tea to ruin your day – heck, your week!  (Or, as my niece Megan used to say, “You’re ruining my life!”  Yeah, yucky tea could do that!)

This is a great little video that shows exactly how to make the perfect pitcher of iced tea.

This – obviously – is sponsored by a particular product.  This method works beautifully for pretty much *any* tea you want to try iced.  Take it from me – the girl who makes at least a gallon of iced tea a day.  I use a slightly different method – I use a fabulous Capresso H2O Plus Glass Water Kettle.   I fill it up to the 48 ounce mark, then boil the water (it takes just a couple minutes).  Then, I put my tea bags in my absolute favorite tea pitcher that I got for something like $4 on sale a couple of years ago.  Then I pour the boiling water over the tea bags and let it steep for 5 minutes.  At the end of the 5 minutes, remove the tea bags.  DO NOT SQUEEZE THE TEA BAGS – it will make the tea bitter.  Now – fill the balance of the pitcher with ice!  Voila!  And I’m like the lady in the video (above).  I have my favorite water bottle that I fill with ice and tea – and it pretty much never leaves my side.  When I go to work, I carry an extra container with extra tea to refill!  (Thankfully – ice is easy to come by at a hospital!  And yes, I admit it – I drink a LOT of tea!)

My tea personal faves:

Stash English Breakfast Black Tea – I use 4 tea bags for 1/2 a gallon of iced tea.

Stash Fusion Breakfast Green and Black Tea – I use 5 tea bags for 1/2 a gallon of iced tea.

Tazo Awake – I use 4 tea bags for 1/2 a gallon of iced tea.

Tazo Zen – I use 7 tea bags for 1/2 a gallon of iced tea.

…and my kids particularly like…

Tazo Passion – I use 5 tea bags for 1/2 a gallon of iced tea.

Tazo China Green Tips – I use 6 tea bags for 1/2 a gallon of iced tea.

…and hands down the most popualar tea we serve – always, no matter the occasion…

MarketSpice from Pike Place Market in Seattle – I use 4 tea bags for 1/2 a gallon of iced tea.  (But honestly, if we’ve got people over – it’s stupid to make just 1/2 a gallon – this is a minimum 1 gallon kinda tea!)

So there you go – a great place to start.

Now go make yourself some iced tea!

Leave a Reply

