Should We Ban the Word “Obesity” To Protect Heavy Kids’ Feelings? – iVillage

on

 

 

Should We Ban the Word “Obesity” To Protect Heavy Kids’ Feelings? – iVillage.

So what do you think about this?

I was a – dare I say it? – fat kid.

Yes, I was picked on.

Yes, people said horrible things.

Yes, I was publically humiliated.

Yes, I cried tears over it all.

I weigh today, roughly, what I weighed as a 4th grader.  I don’t have a huge frame of reference for being a “normal weight” person and having an opinion on this that is not tinged with emotion, memory, passion.  Add to that the fact that I am the parent of a child who was diagnosed as morbidly obese as a 10 year old; who with a BMI of 42 underwent a Lap Sleeve Gastrectomy.  That was three years ago, a wheelchair ago, 15 BMI points ago, a few co-morbidities ago.  He was a happy kid when he was morbidly obese.  He’s a happy kid now.  But if you ask him about his WLS, if he’s glad he did it – he looks at you like you’ve lost a significant portion of your logical thought processing center of your brain – “DUH!  HELLO!  OF COURSE I AM!” would be his response.

How how about you?

What do you think about all of this?

Leave a Reply

