Here goes…

on

I’m remembering to take a deep breath, let it out slowly, and relax the shoulders.

It’s important to do that sort of thing, rather than get stressed out.

About an hour after I got home from work this evening I found out that I’m having surgery tomorrow.

I’ve been NPO since January 1st.

I’ve been on several antibiotics – first oral, then IV. (Had an allergic reaction to one in there, too! No more Ertapenem for me!)

About a week after I finished the oral antibiotic my pain began to escalate pretty significantly, and I started to have some low grade fevers. So Dr. Zelko ordered IV antibiotics – they seem to be what’s been needed to do the trick for me through the course of all of this craziness. So the order for Ertapenem. Well that one didn’t work out so well – so got switched to IV Avelox.

Should do the trick, right?

I did get better a bit for a couple of days.

And then, not so much.

My pain began escalating again. And for the last three nights my fever has been back – and is climbing.

STINK.

My pain patch has been swapped out for one with bigger guns pain medication. Good thing – cause even with the patch on, I’m staying right around 7/8 on the 1 to 10 pain scale.

Not only that – my liver labs are starting to get funky. Sometimes TPN can mess with the liver. That seems to be the case for me.

So – the conclusion is – gotta get this surgery done.

So, I have to be at the hospital at 7:00 am.

Surgery is at 9:30 or 10:00 am.

It will likely last 4 to 5 hours.

I’ll be in the hospital at least a week.

So – keep me in your prayers, will you? That the surgeons will have wisdom, discernment, and great skill. That the outcomes of the surgery would be great – affording me a realistic/livable quality of life. That there are no leaks (I’m at high risk for that). That they are able to save my spleen (there’s a very real possibility that it will have to go – it’s been through a lot). That my mesh will not need to be replaced. And that pain control will be REALLY GOOD. Thanks friends!

The good news – the laptop seems to be all better. When I’m past the first few days of surgery, I’ll try and update from there.

More when I’m able. 🙂

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Alison says:

    Holding good thoughts for your surgeon and you right now, Dina, and sending healing energy.

    Alison

  2. Maureen says:

    Dina, Dina, Dina……words fail me. I was so hoping you’d be able to join me this year with a “hospital and complication free” year. So far so good for me and I’m grateful for that. Be assured that my prayers are with you for a successful and uncomplicated surgery. You are the eternal optimist….me, not so much concerning my own health. One of my biggest regrets regarding my health was having a resleeve done on my DS. I don’t think you feel the same. We can just agree to disagree.

    God bless you dear friend. I’m sorry I’ve been absent for awhile. I’ll be anxious to hear how you do.

    Loads of love dear friend,
    Maureen

  3. Em Gee says:

    Prayers for a safe recovery, Dina.

  4. Melody says:

    Just clicked over here to see how you were doing. I guess you are in surgery! So…I am praying! Hope all this will be over for you SOON!!!

    Love and hugs!
    Melody

  5. Ellen from Ohio says:

    Well Dina I just read that things went ok in surgery and that the pain meds are working. I am so sorry that all this had to happen. Things HAVE to get better now. Sending healing wishes your way for a quick and uneventful recovery……..Ellen from Ohio

  6. Leslie says:

    Prayers & Healing Vibes heading your way. May this be your last surgery, and a start to a new healthy, happy, complication free life. You’ve been through so much you deserve a break.
    Leslie

  7. Hi Dina,
    Been praying for you and checking OH to see how you are doing. Please let us know, when you can. Time to kick all this surgery and move on! More prayers headed your way….
    Marilyn in ohio
    ds in 1994
    235/140

  8. Fara says:

    sorry to hear you have been sick…i am praying for you, may the healing hands of our lord emrace you and your family. hope to talk with you soon. blessings, fara

Leave a Reply

