Obese air passenger in economy seat has picture taken – Telegraph

on

Obese air passenger in economy seat has picture taken – Telegraph.

This could have been me 8 years ago.  We traveled to Ohio from Oregon to spend he holidays with family.  I weighed 365 pounds at 5’2″ tall, and was wheelchair bound.  It was the trip from hell.  I was treated rudely – okay – more than rudely – hatefully is a better descriptor – by many that trip.  It was awful.

It just breaks my heart to see this guy – you know he’s in pain.  You know he’s miserable.  You know he’s humiliated.  You know that people have said horrible things to him.  You – like me – might know well the dilemma of being a super morbidly obese person with the need to travel a great distance – and air travel is your best option.

Is there an answer?

Obviously – I love the answer I found.  My DS is nothing short of a gift straight from the hand of the Lord God Almighty.

Is it for everyone?  Maybe not.

I started reading the commets on this article and could only go so far – it just was too painful.  PEOPLE CAN BE SO MEAN!  People who have no clue about what it means walking a FOOT much less a mile in our shoes have NO CLUE whatsoever about what is involved here.

Sigh.

So what do you think?

Any answers?

Insight?

Comments?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura Mumford says:

    Hey Dina! Been missing you on OH and thought I’d explore over here to check on you. Glad to see you’re posting! How are you doing?

    This article is so sad. I read about halfway through the comments and had to stop too. There were some people who were trying to educate, but mostly the usual “stop eating” and “rice cakes stat” bullshit. I feel so bad for the guy. There are two seats empty behind him, and I wonder if he was sitting there but got up to do something and was just standing at the seat in front of him waiting for a bathroom to clear or something? At any rate, I just know how embarassed and humiliated the guy is. I sure feel that way when I fly. I always think everyone’s watching me as I make my way to my seat going “thank god she passed us by”, and then feel bad for whoever ends up next to me.

    But not for much longer! My DS is two weeks from today (technically yesterday!)! Woo hoo!

    Just wanted to let you know I’ve been thinking about you and still swinging my cats at ya! Let me know when I can put ’em down! Take care,

    Laura

  2. Liz says:

    The picture broke my heart and I have to say that I avoided traveling when I was 300 pounds for this very reason. I am not sure what to say.

    Best,
    Liz

  3. Monica says:

    I feel really bad for that guy. I hope he discovers the DS.

    Surgery really is the ONLY way for the morbidly obese to take the weight off and keep it off in this culture.

    Being near normal is a blessing–and it can only really be appreciated if you’ve been to the other side.

  4. Chell says:

    Hi. I was just catching up on everyone over at O.H. when I came to read this. I feel for this fellow SO much. It’s just not right nor is it fair. I agree our culture in the US is far to thin oriented. Lets hope some day “they” wake up and understand.

Leave a Reply

