Today’s the Day

I have a date with Dr. Kirsten Dunst (Dr. Swanstrom’s partner) to have the stent in my stomach removed. I have to be at the hospital at 3:00 pm. They made sure to tell me that I needed to fast for 8 hours before the procedure. I laughed and said, “Um… I’ve been NPO for 6 and a half weeks.” To which they said, “Oh… what a bummer!”

It’s an outpatient procedure. The speculation is that I will be discharged by about 6pm, and then on my way home.

My question is if they will be able to get me awake enough to get to that point! The last few times when I’ve had anesthesia there was not a whole lot of success in that department!

We’ll see.

In other – but related – news. I’m trying not to have a freak out. I’m not sure it’s working.

I think I may have mentioned previously that the last week that I was in the hospital this last time there was a new resident who showed up – never introduced himself, and did very little interacting with me. I wasn’t so impressed with him. I still don’t know his name – that bugs me. He filled out some of my discharge papers and wrote on them that my condition was a complication from my “gastric bypass” – SEVEN YEARS AGO.

HELLO.

I DON’T THINK SO!

Dr. Swanstrom, Dr. Zelko, and Dr. Halpin all agreed that my condition was due to damage caused by excessive ibuprofen use – secondary to my ankle reconstruction in March.

So – guess what’s happened. Yep. My insurance company is presenting ME with a bill for my 3 week hospitalization – that got billed as $90,041.80 – that’s without any of the procedures that were done – which have now also been denied.

So – now I find myself needing to fight and appeal all of this – which will eventually add up to well over $100,000 worth of treatment.

This is scary.

We are so broke to start with – I’ve been trying to figure out how I can make some money somehow just because we are barely making it with day to day needs! Now this! I’ve been doing a lot of crying out to God for help and advocacy.

And to be honest – not being 100% all better yet – it just feels so insurmountable. I kind of don’t know what step to take first or next or whatever!

I’ve decided to try and not focus on it today, though – I’m going to get this stent removal done and over with, get recovered from that, and THEN formulate a plan and go to work on that… praying desperately all the way!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Monica says:

    I’m so sorry this is happening to you. I’ve added my prayers, such as they are, for you to be granted what you need and get through this.

    Thanks so much for visiting my hardly-ever-visited blog and taking your time to give encouragement…even in the face of your own, far more severe problems. I’ll be in touch.

    I had a stent in for a two weeks and that was enough! I could FEEL it and it was uncomfortable. I was beyond relieved when they took it out. Pulling with you in hope of you enjoying turkey day with your family

    You are a blessing, though, I want you to know that. I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis and prescribed 800 mg of Ibuprofen three times a day. I stopped taking it because of your experience. I think you saved me a LOT of grief down the line.

    Thanks again.

    1. dinamcb says:

      Thanks Monica!

      Isn’t it the wierdest when the stent first goes in? Not a fun feeling, that’s for sure. Mine was in there for so long I kinda forgot about it. Getting it removed was kind of a non-issue – thankfully!

      Let’s definitely talk, though, okay? I really believe you are far from being done, girlfriend!

      BIG hug!

  2. Judy says:

    Dina,

    Get in touch with your surgeon and doctor. He can rewrite the paperwork and resubmit it to your insurance company. I have had to do this for my doctor’s visits in the past when a nurse wrote something that mentioned my bariatric surgery and shouldn’t have. Talk to your doc.

    Sorry for the trouble this young intern made for you! Am crossing my fingers and sending you hugs!

    Judy

    1. dinamcb says:

      Thanks Judy!

      I’ve got all of the appeal paperwork to fill out now – it just got here – so I’ve got my work cut out for me. I’ve been formulating my plan of attack – and doing a LOT of praying as I go along!

      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

