Happy News!!!

on

Just got back from the hospital – had to have an Upper GI to check on the status of stuff in my gut.

I had to drink that completely wicked gastrografin stuff – remember the horrible cough syrup that they used to make us take as kids – before they started adding good flavors to ickey medicines? Yeah, like that times about 500 on steroids.

YUCK!!!!

*shudder*

Still grossed out.

Anyway, got into the room, did the swallow the vile stuff, the radiologist got a series of pictures. He showed me there was a bit of a “bulge” where there shouldn’t be one – i.e., where the fistula is. Then he said – “Let’s wait 15 minutes and see where that bulge goes – if it goes back into the stomach or out to the abdominal cavity.”

So we waited.

Fifteen minutes later, the bulge had lightened considerably, with no show of contrast in the abdominal cavity. He still wasn’t sure and said, “Let’s wait another 15 minutes and see what we see.”

So I went, sat down to wait, and less than five minutes later he came back.

“I just had the opportunity to look at your films from the last Upper GI (three weeks earlier) – these films show that it’s SO MUCH BETTER – I mean a LOT better. There’s no reason to wait another 15 minutes. This is very encouraging!”

So, essentially, this means that being NPO is doing what it’s supposed to. The fistula seems to be closing itself off and rather than allowing stuff to go through the tube to the abdominal wall – it’s backing into the stomach and then going through the stomach as it should.

This makes 23 more days of NPO and TPN seem VERY doable.

HOORAY!!!!!!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Rhiannon says:

    Hooray! You have so been in my thoughts. You are amazing lady — I am so happy that you are working your way back to good. HUGS!!!

  2. Maureen says:

    Oh Dina, finally some positively wonderful news. Boy that TPN can be a real pesky thing to have to do but it sure does help to let your inards sleep while you heal.
    Love,

  3. cheryl says:

    Oh. My. Gosh!! I have been so out of touch, that I had no idea you had been going through all of this. I am so sorry!! We are practically neighbors, so you let me know if there is anything I can do for you. You’re in my thoughts, Dina. Hugs… Cheryl

  4. Lisa Martin says:

    Hello Dina,
    I am in amazement of you. Your strength, courage and humbleness are endearing.
    Keep it up keep going. I thank you for your posts; they help to keep me centered.
    Take extra care of yourself in this chilly weather. You can always double-up on cashmere.
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

