The View’s Gonna Be Changing…

Remember my theme this hospitalization? The word starts with a “W” – yeah, that one – waiting.

Did lots more of that over the weekend and today as well. I kept hoping that one of the doctors – Zelko, Swanstrom, Halpin – would stop by and say, “Okay – this is what we’re going to do. Such and such will happen at such and such a time, and then we’ll send you home by X date.”

Didn’t happen.

And come to find out – my day was grossly consumed by other events – nonrelated to my stay in the hospital this time and the saga of as the stomach turns.

About an hour or so ago dear, sweet, fabulous, and all around wonderful Dr. Zelko came by to chat. He sat in the chair, we talked about how pleased he was with my nutritional status already making good strides toward healthy, and the fact that an additional procedure at this particular juncture probably wouldn’t be prudent – as it would extend up into to the esophagus, and those are notoriously painful and problematic. He said it didn’t mean they wouldn’t try the plasma thing at some future point in time – but just not now.

He said he thought we oughtta get me home.

We talked about the nuances of timing. Six weeks of NPO – I can do it! The stent that is in place will have to come back out – about the same time. Typically, fistulas that are gonna heal are gonna heal in about that six week time frame. We are optimistic that this is the right course of action and healing could well be just weeks down the way.

Good news as well: my upper left quadrant pain/tenderness has essentially gone away since my oral intake stopped. Go figure. LOL.

So, since it’s the end of business here at good old Good Sam, all of the paperwork will kick into high gear in the morning. It will take some figuring and maneuvering to get the whole TPN at home thing figured out and set up – that will be the most complex part of getting me home. So I’m hoping home tomorrow, the next day at the latest.

HOORAY!!!!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Maureen says:

    Prayers are constantly being said for your return home. If you haven’t had TPN at home before, I can tell you that it IS doable albeit a real pain in the butt. It’s quite the procedure especially if you’re on 24/7. Wish I were closer not just to help but also to hug.

    Much love,
    Maureen

  2. dinamcb says:

    Thanks Maureen! They’re hoping to make it 12 hour cyclical – I have three antibiotics at five different times a day to give as well, so they’ll maybe add fluids at thoe times, as well.

    It’s encouraging to know that it can be done at home – and others have. I’m just trying to figure out IV pole on carpet at home, you know?! 🙂

    Love ya!

  3. Lisa Sherman says:

    Dear Dina,

    I just learned about you being in the hospital. I’m so sorry that this has happened to you. My husband Patrick, business partner Erik and I have you in our prayers.

    We hope you have a complete recovery. From you blogs it appears you have a terrific team.

    take care,

    Lisa

    1. dinamcb says:

      Hey Lisa! Thanks so much – I know that God hears those prayers and honors them!

      This has been a little bit of a wild season of life, but oh the stuff I’ve learned! 🙂

      I’m excited to get to be going home today! And am so thankful for each blessing I’ve been given each step of the way!

  4. Liz says:

    I am so happy to hear you are heading home! It will be much easier for you to rest and heal on your own turf. I am still saying prayers and I BELIEVE for 100% recovery.

    Take care,
    Liz

    1. dinamcb says:

      Thanks Liz!

      I’m actually typing this from HOME!!!! Woo Hoo!

      Keep praying and I’m gonna agree with you on that recovery!

      Big hug!

  5. Dennie says:

    Dina – So, HOME? Home? Today?? I didn’t get a chance to look at this yesterday. I was just sitting here, hoping you were home and looked at a reply to another comment.

    YAY!! And HOORAY!!

    You know, until I read the last episode before this one, I still thought that all this unpleasantness was related to the resleeve! It made me wonder if that was something that anybody ought to even consider ever doing, ever! I’m not glad that it’s due to something else in that I wish it had never happened. But I am a bit relieved that it’s not due to the resleeve.

    I got an email from a friend today and I know it was meant for you. Who-ever sent it to her sent it in all caps, they must have been excited. lol

    I HAD AN UNEXPECTED VISITOR THIS MORNING. HE ARRIVED EARLY, SAT DOWN WITH
    ME AND CHATTED FOR A WHILE ABOUT HOW THINGS WERE CURRENTLY GOING FOR ME IN
    MY LIFE.

    AFTER VERY CAREFULLY AND COMPASSIONATELY LISTENING TO ALL THAT I HAD TO
    SAY, HE SAW THE STRESS ON MY FACE AND THE TEARS IN MY EYES. HE STOOD UP,
    WALKED OVER TO ME, LEANED OVER AND GENTLEY HELD ME FOR AWHILE BECAUSE I
    WAS HAVING A REALLY BAD MORNING.

    THEN, AFTER REASSURING ME NOT TO WORRY, THAT EVERYTHING WOULD WORK OUT FOR
    ME AND BE JUST FINE, HE ASKED ME IF I KNEW OF ANYONE ELSE THAT COULD USE A
    VISIT FROM HIM. I IMMEDIATELY THOUGHT OF YOU MY FRIEND. I GAVE HIM YOUR
    NAME AND TOLD HIM WHERE YOU LIVED. HE GAVE ME ANOTHER REASSURING HUG,
    THANKED ME AND I WALKED WITH HIM TO MY FRONT DOOR. HE TOLD ME THAT HE WAS
    ON HIS WAY TO YOUR PLACE.

    There was a lovely picture attached, I’m trying to attach it here, but who knows if it will work. If you can’t see it, it’s a picture of the ONE set of footprints in the sand and the phrase “let Him carry you.”

    http://mail.google.com/mail/?ui=2&ik=a98b1d17ea&view=att&th=123e9a374df65a5f&attid=0.1&disp=inline&zw

    That probably won’t work.

    Love
    Dennie

    1. dinamcb says:

      Dennie,

      Yes – I’m home! I got here Wednesday afternoon, and phew – am I a wuss! My schedule is a little daunting, too – juggling TPN and antibiotics, etc., so I’m getting WAY less done than I thought I would.

      I love that email you included – beautiful! Thank you!

      And yes – this whole stupid stuff is because of my own stupid fault – too much ibuprofen after the ankle reconstruction. I’m so stupid! But you better believe no more will ever cross these lips!!!

      *smootch* to you friend!

Leave a Reply

