Waiting

The past 24 hours have been unusual.

I woke up Monday morning feeling – well, blechy – for want of a better term. I was still a little chilled after my Vitamin K reaction, and felt sort of like I’d just run a marathon. But there’s one thing I hate – laying around in bed when there’s a perfectly good recliner to hang out in!

So I got myself up, got myself to the recliner, and… ugh. I just felt awful. Gut pain, increased shoulder pain, overall malaise. I sat up in the recliner for a little while and then thought, “It’s not like the world’s gonna come to an end if I lay down!” and so I climbed back in the bed.

And there I stayed.

All day.

All night.

Until just a little while ago.

I got really pretty sick – and was in enough pain to accept pain medication all day long. Then, during the night I spiked a fever – everyone sat up and took notice. They had me doing a breathing incentive spirometer every five minutes. The nurse called Dr. Zelko at 3am to report the fever, and he ordered Tylenol even though I was supposed to be NPO.

A couple of hours later the fever broke – and I was drenched in sweat. But I started to feel a bit better once the fever broke.

The rumor yesterday was that Dr. Swanstrom would be taking me into endoscopy to re-scope and make sure everything that got repaired is sound, and make sure there aren’t any other problems. We didn’t know a time, so they made me NPO at midnight.

This morning Dr. Swanstrom himself came by! (Wow! That doesn’t happen very often!) He asked how things had gone since the repair in August – I gave him the blow by blow, and he said he agreed that we needed to peek and make sure everything was okay in there.

I have a noon OR time – just a couple more hours. I’m hoping and praying that they get in there and find that everything looks good and it will be a quick in and out.

Updates as they’re available.

Ps 91:1-2

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High

will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

2 I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge

and my fortress,

my God, in whom I trust.”

NIV

Leave a Reply

