No big surprise

If you’ve known me for any length of time then it’s quite likely that you know that I’m never one to do things the “usual” way. If someone is going to have a strange reaction to something – it’s probably going to be me. Hence, my full typed sheet of allergies and reactions to medications, foods, and environmental irritants.

Last time I was in the hospital, you may remember the little incident where they wanted to give me Lovonox – you can read about it here if it doesn’t spark a memory for you. Anyway, I asked Dr. Zelko to run some labs for me Saturday – just wanted to make sure everything was at least not in dangerously low or high ranges, you know? He was more than happy to do so. Yesterday when he came by to check up on me he mentioned that my Protime and INR were a little elevated. He said, “You got Vitamin K last stay, right? Everything go okay with that?”

“Yeah – it was a non-event.” I responded.

“Okay – we’ll we’re going to give you some magnesium today, the K, and see how that affects your levels.”

A couple of hours later pharmacy sent up the little teensy IV bag off Vitamin K – identical to the one I’d had in August when I was hospitalized previously. My nurse, Heather, hung the bag, and happened to sit and chat for a while as it started.

Just a few moments into the infusion I started to feel extremely flushed – and said so to Heather. She looked at me and said, “You sure are! Is anything else going on?”

All of a sudden I felt like someone was stomping on my heart – and I started seeing stars – and shortly after that I felt like someone was kidney punching me. The pain was extreme, I was working hard to catch a breath – and Heather immediately discontinued the drip and flushed the line. She then checked my vitals – and my blood pressure was quite high, as was my pulse.

Things slowly returned to “normal” – only now I was very shaky and had a total kidney dump – I peed like a race horse! – and was freezing cold – even with hot blankets to warm me up.

WEIRD!

Heather immediately checked with pharmacy. They were baffled. They’d never heard of such a thing!

I got into the bed, finished the other IV that needed completed, and then, at the direction of the pharmacy, Heather slowed the Vitamin K drip down to almost nothing to finish off the remainder of the bag. Interestingly enough, the symptoms returned – in a much more mild form – but returned nonetheless. We were able to get all of the K run, but dang – I won’t be accepting that again!

It literally took me hours to get over the episode. Maybe three or four hours to get warmed up again. Heather did an excellent job of chronicling the entire incident, so it’s been the talk of those who have occasion to read my chart.

Probably more bothersome, however, is the fact that my shoulder pain is ramping up again, darn it all. I have had increased tenderness at the abscess site since the tap – of course. But since last evening the shoulder pain has increased enough to – well – bum me out.

I’m so ready to be well.

I’m so tired of pain.

I’m so tired of being ill.

Yes, I’m feeling quite whiney today.

Of note, one of Dr. Swanstrom’s fellows stopped by last evening and had my sign a consent for an endoscopy. I still don’t think it will happen until Tuesday at the earliest – but it will be good to know that he can take a peek in there and make sure everything is as it should be.

So, that’s pretty much it. I’m gonna hang out here, probably accept some pain meds, and just vege. I wish I felt better and felt like doing more. Just ain’t happening right now, though.

Thanks for keeping me in your prayers, friends!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Monica says:

    You’re not being whiney at all! You have been through hell and I’m always amazed at how upbeat you consistently are.

    I was in the hospital on and off for months after my DS and it is beyond miserable. You are such a strong woman and I’m wishing you home with your wonderful hubby SOON!

  2. dinamcb says:

    Monica, thanks so much for the encouragement! I’m so glad for the support of so many amazing people – just like you!

    Hugs,

    dina

  3. Tara says:

    Dina, I am so sorry you are struggling yet again. I’ve been keeping up with all that’s going on with you and I am praying continually. Here’s a verse for you:

    “Those that wait on the LORD
    shall renew their strength;
    They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
    They shall run and not be weary,
    They shall walk and not faint.
    ~ Isaiah 40:31 ~

    God will give you the strength to get through this. He is the never – failing companion of your heart. He is blessing you in ways you cannot even comprehend right now. He will show His strength powerful and glorious through this situation.

    May He bless you with the everlasting comfort only He can bring.
    Hugs,
    Tara 🙂

    1. dinamcb says:

      Tara – thank you! I’m just about to shut down the computer and rest before they come to take me for my procedure at noon. I needed that Isaiah passage reminder!

      Hugs!

      dina

Leave a Reply

