Showers are good!

on

Every post-op should have their first post-op shower in a shower like this:

Sigh… this could be habit forming!

We had a great day today. We found Denise and her sister Darcy at breakfast this morning. Denise had her sleeve surgery with Dr. Baltasar on Wednesday. They’ve actually been here a the hotel since Friday but we hadn’t been able to find them yet. Amazingly enough, they are just a couple of rooms down from us!

After breakfast John and I, RJ and MJ, and Ann drove to Benidorm (6 km down the road) to the open air market. We had a fun time watching people. I wish I could access Ann’s pictures – she got a shot of a lady trying on a bra over her clothes at one of the booths – it was a riot!

After the open air market we went to lunch at Tony Roma’s in Benidorm. The girls enjoyed soup and the guys ribs – while the girls tried really hard not to drool visably at their yummy food. After lunch we walked the block to the beach.

This is a pretty classic snapshot of Ann, MJ, and I – laughing. We’ve done a LOT of laughing this trip. A LOT. LOL!

I am having one little wierd thing going on. I’ve got one spot on my abdomen that *really* hurts. Kinda feels like someone has punched me in a quarter sized spot repeatedly. It’s definitely external – Dr. Baltasar and I talked some time ago about potential side effects or complications that could come about because of my mesh with a lap surgery. One of them is that some gas can get trapped in the mesh. I’m wondering if that’s what’s happened. I just emailed Dr. B and will likely hear from him in the morning about his thoughts on this. In the meantime, I’m trying to take it easy – and no laugh so much.

The sunset tonight was stunning – just had to share:

We’re heading to Madrid on the noon train tomorrow. I’m not sure how we’ll handle the change in weather – leaving the 70’s for the 50’s. Tough, huh? I guess we’ll just have to buck up!

Thanks for all of the good thoughts, precious prayers, and emails of support!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Brenda says:

    Hello Dina,
    It is GORGEOUS where you are there in Spain. I’m so happy for you that the weather is so warm! You might go through a bit of a shock when you come back into Portland!
    I hope Dr. B comes back with an easy solution to your excruciating pain. I am praying!
    Keep enjoying that fresh air!
    Love you,
    Brenda

  2. dina says:

    I totally think you and me and Becky need to bring our girls to Spain and have a fun girls’ trip. Wouldn’t that be awesome?

    Dr. B’s opinion is that I probably have lap gas stuck in my mesh. It’ll probably just take a while to work it’s way out.

    We’re in Madrid now… Fun!

    *smootch*

Leave a Reply

