Home » Eating » DS Friendly Eating » DS-Friendly Eating: Cabbage Roll Soup

DS-Friendly Eating: Cabbage Roll Soup

When it looks like this…

…on the local forecast, my thoughts turn instantly to SOUP!

Lately, one soup in particular has won my affection.

It’s beefy, tomato-y, cabbag-y, has a robust spice blend that just makes your tummy happy.

What’s not to love?

Cabbage Roll Soup (ß-click hyperlink to go to PDF of the recipe.)

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 large onion, diced
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound lean ground beef
1 ½ teaspoons Kosher salt
1 teaspoon coarse ground black pepper
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 head cabbage, rough chopped
1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
4 cups beef stock
4 HerbOx beef bouillon cubes
2 to 3 cups tomato juice

Just like with any soup, I like to start off with a bit of olive oil (or butter, your preference) in the bottom of the pan, and then the onion, cooking over medium-high heat for about 5 minutes before I add the minced garlic.

When the onion is somewhat translucent, I add in the ground beef and spices. Make sure to cook until there is no more pink left in the ground beef.

Once the ground beef is cooked through, add in the chopped cabbage.

You want to mix the cabbage thoroughly with the other ingredients in the pan. The heat and steam will begin to braise the cabbage pretty quickly. Note the timestamp on the photo above and the photo below. Only 4 minutes between the two!

Next, add the diced tomatoes. Make sure to let the acid from the tomatoes to do their part to deglaze the pan. Using your spatula or spoon, make sure to scrape the bottom of the pan so that all of the yummy little stuck on bits get loosened up.

Now it’s time to add the beef broth, rice, and bouillon cubes. I make a point to use a no-MSG bouillon cube. And – I don’t want to give any DS’ers a stroke or anything – but yes, I put rice in! Here’s the great thing about cooking – if it doesn’t work for you, don’t do it. If you feel better about brown rice, use that. Or maybe consider barley or quinoa. Or a bean of some sort – Cannellini or navy beans maybe? The options are dizzying.

Then lastly, add in the tomato juice. I love tomato juice. Not to drink it – but to cook with it. AMAZING stuff.

Now – mix up your soup, turn the heat down to low, put a lid on it, and go start the laundry or something. Just make sure to check back every 20 minutes or so to stir. You’ll want to be certain to make sure that the rice doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot, so make a point to stir all the way to the bottom of the pot.

About 30 minutes after I put the lid on this pot I came back for a taste test. I decided it was a little bland for my mood today, so I added an additional teaspoon of black pepper and paprika, as well as an additional teaspoon of Kosher salt. Then I stirred it up once again, and put the lid back on.

A while later, it was lunch time! Yay!

It turned out PERFECTLY. You better believe I’ll be nibbling on this for the majority of the afternoon!

That was pretty easy, huh? See? You could be a pro at making all sorts of scratch-made soups in no time at all!

And now for the nutrition.

One serving of this fabulous soup will get you:

About 160 calories

21 grams of protein

3 grams of dietary fiber (which you could totally boost with a brown rice or some other grain option)

And 60% of your Vitamin C recommendation for the day!

Perfect for a cold, windy, rainy day!

4 Comments

  1. Kristi Stepp says:

    oh yum I want to make that now. Has anyone ever turned you onto “six in one” tomatoes? I found them on Amazon but my sister who is an Italian food lover originally found them thru some Italian deli or restauarant and raved to me about them. I found them once at an Italian deli too & the guy there took me aside & asked in a whisper how I found out about them. Usually it’s high end Italian restaurants that use them I was surprised to find out. They are exceptionally good in pizza & italian dishes. Since I have some now I might try this soup with them. Thank you!

    LOVE,

    Kristi

    aka ZUZU

    Date: Sat, 23 Feb 2013 01:41:10 +0000 To: zuzupetals2u@msn.com

  2. leanne untulis says:

    as always, thank you Dina!!!

    From: Living the DS Life >To: leanneuntulis@yahoo.com >Sent: Friday, February 22, 2013 5:41 PM >Subject: [New post] DS-Friendly Eating: Cabbage Roll Soup > >Dina posted: “When it looks like this… …on the local forecast, my thoughts turn instantly to SOUP! Lately, one soup in particular has won my affection. It’s beefy, tomato-y, cabbag-y, has a robust spice blend that just makes your tummy happy. What’s not” >

  3. marta casbeer says:

    I am going to try this one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

